Local students selected for Palmetto Boys State, Palmetto Girls State

Jun 04 Written by  STAFF REPORTS

The American Legion’s Palmetto Boys State (PBS) and the American Legion’s Auxiliary Palmetto Girls State (PGS) will commence on Sunday, June 11.

Palmetto Boys State will be held at Anderson University and Palmetto Girls State will be held at Presbyterian College. As in years past, Laurens County is well represented at Palmetto Boys State and Palmetto Girls State in 2017.

According to the PBS website, more than 900 rising seniors are nominated each year by their high school teachers and counselors to be delegates at Boys State. Those nominated are then interviewed and selected by the local American Legion Post.

According to the PGS website, delegates for PGS must be selected and sponsored by an American Legion Auxiliary Unit. The members of the American Legion Auxiliary Units may seek recommendations of eligible and interested girls from the guidance counselors or school administrators of the high schools in their geographic areas.

“We consider the program to be as much leadership training as it is an opportunity to learn about and participate in government and politics.  In fact, many of our state’s political, business, and community leaders attended Boys State,” stated on the Palmetto Boys State website.

The delegates from Laurens County will participate in the week-long “laboratory of government.” They will have the opportunity to run for and be elected to mock offices ranging from city level, such as city council and mayor, to state constitutional offices, such as lieutenant governor and governor.

PBS delegates from Laurens District High School are Conner Dunlap, Trevor Madden, Ben Carter, Jayon Babb, Matthew Lafond Favieres and Orin Patterson. PGS delegates are Kelsey Hampton, Alicia Campbell and Kathryn Tribble.

Clinton High School delegates to PBS are Chris Cannon, Dawson Green, Thomas Hellams, Isaac MacMillan, Justin Nobles, William Scott, Elijah Toland and Alexander Windsor. PGS delegates are Elizabeth Childress, Elizabeth Jones, Sara Olivia Stephens, Destini Robinson and Alyssa Shiflet.

PBS delegates from Laurens Academy are Wil Tindall and Ryan Anderson. Their PGS delegate is Ashley Magda.

(Picture of CHS boys state delegates courtesy of CHS guidance)

Last modified on Monday, 05 June 2017 00:16