Racing Report: After disqualification, Lawson wins Thunder Bombers at Laurens County Speedway

Jun 05 Written by  STAFF REPORTS

Dan Lawson stepped in for Bobby Tucker less than a month ago to drive the No. 88 car in the Thunder Bombers Division at Laurens County Speedway and has been nothing but excellent since then.

That trend appeared to continue Saturday night at LCS as Lawson held off the field to win his third straight race, denying Casey Lawson by 1.550 seconds. Casey Lawson was second, while Dylan Chappell was third.

But that was all before a post-race protest was lobbied against Dan Lawson’s car. Lawson agreed to the inspection, but the result was the No. 88 car was ruled to be illegal. That gave the victory to Casey Lawson and moved Chappell to second. Shane Roberts then moved to third.

Casey Lawson had the lead at the start, parlaying his start on the pole to the front of the field with Dan Lawson taking second by a slim margin at the start. After a restart on the second lap, both Lawsons pulled away from Chappell as all three drivers separated from the rest of the field.

Casey Lawson continued to hold the lead as the laps went on by, but Dan Lawson continued his pursuit and eventually pulled even with Casey Lawson before, on the frontstretch, Dan Lawson pulled ahead for keeps – only to have the victory erased afterward.

602 Crate: The division has become a battle of three drivers – Mart Patterson, Chris Patterson and Jeff Robinson – and that trend held firm in the main event. This time, though, Robinson didn’t find his way to the top of the field as Mart Patterson broke Robinson’s two-race winning streak by taking the main event.

Robinson settled for second and Chris Patterson took third in what was a caution-free race.

Mart Patterson got out to the lead from the start and found himself in a race-long battle with Robinson, who would not give in despite falling behind by about six-tenths of a second with two laps to go. Robinson built a final charge and quickly closed the gap as the racers made their way around the track the final time. But Mart Patterson still held firm as Robinson went low for a pass through the final turns and denied Robinson at the finish, winning by .330 seconds.

604 Crate: Dylan Brown denied Larry and Dale Timms to win the main event of the 604 Crate Division. Dale Timms settled for second, while Larry Timms was third.

Brown set the pace from the start and never trailed in the main event, with Dale Timms holding second as Larry followed from behind in hopes of making a move further up the field. As the leaders stayed together at the front of the field, they all managed to get through lap traffic without any trouble, which helped Brown keep the lead. But as the laps went by closer to the finish, Dale Timms started to make one steady close on the lead. He eventually got within five-tenths of a second with four laps to go, but that proved too much to make up.

FWD: Travis Jamieson was the fastest driver in hot-lap qualifying, and he proved to be the best driver in the main event as Jamieson took home the checkered flag. Joel Cabe was second and Mason Mack was third.

Jamieson won wire to wire in the main event and never faced a serious challenge as he pulled away from Cabe early and built a safe lead. Mack proved to be the biggest mover in the main event as he surged from the back of the field at the start to take his third-place finish, getting into third place with a pass of Andrew Patterson with three laps to go.

Monster Minis: Rod Tucker turned back Phillip Wilson to take home the victory in the Monster Minis Division. Wilson finished in second place while Larry Teal was third.

Dusty Eaves started on the inside of Row 1 when the green flag flew, but it was Tucker who found his way past on the opening lap to grab the lead. Tucker continued to hold the lead through the remainder of the race. Teal later had issues with his back right tire after it went flat, forcing him into the pits to get a chance. Teal made the change fast and got himself back out to resume his race, and by doing so he squeezed between both Brandon Frazier and Heat Eaton after a restart on Lap 10 to get back to fourth place and, eventually, get past Eaves to grab third.

Limited: Billy Rushton blew away the field in the Limited Division and won the main event by a whopping 9.052 seconds. Frankie Coates was second and Steve Bowie was third.

The race was clean – no caution flags for the duration of the 20-lap feature – but from the start Rushton showed he was the class driver in the division. He built a lead of more than 1.6 seconds through two laps, and continued to charge harder lap by lap, building the lead bigger and bigger each lap that went by. The margin became so wide, in fact, that the only way Rushton was going to lose was if he made a colossal mistake. That never happened, though, and Rushton won the main event with ease.

Last modified on Tuesday, 06 June 2017 13:51