Racing Report: Six drivers win division championships at Laurens County Speedway

Oct 09 Written by  STAFF REPORTS

The final night of the regular season at Laurens County Speedway had four division championships up for grabs, but ultimately saw those who entered the night in first place leave in the same position.

Billy Rushton (Limited), Chris Patterson (602 Crate), Mason Mack (Front-Wheel Drive) and Ray Storay (604 Crate) all wrapped up division championships Saturday night at the speedway. Rushton was the only driver to win the race to clinch his division title, while all the other drivers did more than enough to wrap their divisions.

Limited: Rushton entered the main event with a 34-point lead on Michael Smith, who had led most of the season before Rushton passed him earlier last month. In the main event Rushton proved too tough to stop again and won going away to capture the division title. Michael Smith, who finished second in point standings, was the runner-up in the main event. Frank Coates, third place in the season standings, took third in the race.

Rushton started the main event on the outside of Row 1 and got by Smith for the lead on the first lap, and was never seriously threatened. The biggest race of the night, in fact, came between Smith and Coates for second place. The two drivers were close for most of the race, but Smith finally managed to pull away on the 13th lap and eventually pulled away for second place.

602 Crate: If the season went another month it’s quite possible Mart Patterson could’ve caught Chris Patterson for the division title as he chipped away bit by bit over the last month. But Chris Patterson’s 29-point lead entering the night was more than enough after he finished third in the main event, with Mart Patterson second and Rushton coming over to again win the main event.

As a result, Mart Patterson chipped an estimated eight points off the division lead, but Chris Patterson still had enough of a lead to win the division title.

Rushton pulled away to the lead quickly after the green flag flew and was not challenged. Mart Patterson had to work early to block Chris Patterson from making any attempt at taking second place over, and eventually the top three spaced out from each other to prevent no potential pass.

FWD: Travis Jamieson did all he could to try and chase down Mason Mack in the point standings, winning the main event. But Mack’s third-place finish was more than enough to help him secure the Front-Wheel Drive championship. Shawn Nichols was second.

The main event was a clean race with no caution flags, and Jamieson led the field to the green flag after winning his heat race to start on the pole. Jamieson held the lead from start to finish, but needed Mack to sink far back in the race standings to have any chance to erase a 76-point deficit that he faced entering the night. Mack, who finished in the same spot he started, made sure that did not happen.

SECA 604 Crate: Jeff Robinson won the main event, but Ray Storay clinched the division title even before the race started as Goose Calvert, who was in second, was unable to race in the season finale. Storay finished second in the main event and Steve Bowie was third.

Robinson put the race away by the halfway mark, but Storay had to dig in for a time to turn back Bowie, but Storay eventually got the job done.

Thunder Bombers: Dusty Eaves won the main event, with Dan Lawson finishing second and Tinker Roberts ending third. Casey Lawson, who won the season points title, finished fourth.

Dan Lawson started the main event at the front of the field and held the lead until the fourth lap when Eaves made a pass on Lawson to take over the top spot – a spot he held for the remainder of the race.

Four-Cylinder: Larry Teal already clinched the division title, but finished the season in style by winning the final main event. Stacy Brock was second and Travis Sharpe was third.

Brock started the main event on the pole, but Teal used a good surge in the start zone to grab the lead, leaving Brock second and Phillip Wilson third. Wilson, later in the race, had something go wrong and ended up sinking down the standings, eventually finishing seventh. That allowed Sharpe, who started fifth, to eventually get up to third place.

Last modified on Monday, 09 October 2017 21:49